Windows server 2016 TP 5 activation

Having finished the current round of conference speaking I needed to upgrade my system to Windows 2016 TP5. I’m using a 6 year old Lenovo W510 system.

First problem is that I couldn’t get the wireless adapter working – after a lot of searching I saw a post with a similar issue due to the Wireless LAN Service which you need doesn’t install correctly. Server Manager and Get-WindowsFeature both show it as installed but the wlansvc service isn’t available – doesn’t show in in the services GUI or through Get-Service.

Telephone activation is a pain but works BUT if an internet activation fails you don’t get the telephone option.

This post http://www.urtech.ca/2016/02/solved-how-to-activate-windows-10-server-2016-through-command-line/

saved the day.

Basically type SLUI 4 in the run dialog to open the manual activation  dialog.

Hope this is fixed for RTM otherwise I’ll need a new machine.

This entry was posted in Windows Server 2016. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment