Linux on the desktop

My sense of humour has some quirky moments – as my friends will tell you. Last night I had a lot of time to sit and think (why is a story for another time and place) and it one point a thought about Linux on the desktop struck me.

Back in the 1980s when I worked in seismic exploration and desktop computers were emerging I remember seeing articles at least once every year that “this is the year that Unix takes over the desktop”

This then morphed to “this is the year that Linux takes over the desktop”

Of course neither of these fantasies were actually likely to happen – and I’m deliberately ignoring the Mac OS which is unix based.

However, my thought yesterday was that *nix on the desktop is actually a reality. Windows 10 includes the Bash on Ubuntu on Windows option which brings the bash shell to Windows.

Bet this way of getting *nix on the desktop was ever envisaged. Smile

This entry was posted in Linux, Windows 10. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

