Patching Server Core

I’ve been rebuilding my test lab after installing a SSD into the machine running it in place of the SATA drive.  Huge improvement in load speed of virtual machines – well worth the cost.

I usually have a number of server core machines in the lab and use WSUS for patching.  One issue I’d never really resolved was patching those server core machines  – the control panel fro Windows Update isn’t available!

Finally found a solution in the Windows Update PowerShell module from

Install the module and then you can install your patches using

Get-WUInstall –AcceptAll

I’m running Windows 2012 R2 on all my servers so the modules auto load

This entry was posted in Powershell, Windows Server 2012 R2. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

