Windows 8 RTM startup

I was looking at Win32_OperatingSystem today and noticed that the last boot up time wasn’t right

PS> Get-CimInstance -ClassName Win32_OperatingSystem | select LastBootUpTime

17/08/2012 10:02:11

17 August isn’t right as I know I did a cold start this morning – or at least I think I did!

Windows 8 starts up much faster than Windows 7

Looking at the System event log the last but one entry last night was event id 64 – “The system is entering sleep.”

Looks like using the Shutdown option from Settings – Power only puts the machine to sleep.

I tried using the PowerShell stop-computer cmdlet.

Shutdown took longer than usual. 

I found an entry in the system log stating

“The kernel power manager has initiated a shutdown transition.”

Startup then took much longer than usual

PS> Get-CimInstance -ClassName Win32_OperatingSystem | select LastBootUpTime

02/09/2012 19:27:41

So looks like use the Settings – Power – Shutdown option to put the machine into a deep sleep and get very quick start up.  Use stop-computer and completely shutdown but have longer startup times.

Question now is does the deep sleep put any drain on the battery for laptops? I’ll try and find out.

This entry was posted in Windows 8. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Windows 8 RTM startup

  1. tomarbuthnot says:

    Hi Richard,

    Windows 8 has a new mode call fast start. I’m not sure if this is the same thing but I found it stopped wake on LAN working.

    Details here:

  2. datadefence says:

    Put it in a deep sleep, remove battery and replace. Turn on and see if it died in its sleep!

  3. Quirel says:

    Yes indeed this is strange if you encounter this the first time.

    When I was starting to play around with Windows 8 and replaced a hard drive, I wondered why the new hard disk didn’t show up in windows explorer!! I tried several times the shutdown feature. Nothing. By accident I used the restart feature and guess what, the new hard drive was initialized and available.

Leave a Reply

