Vista Application Incompatibility?

There has been a lot written about the issues of application incompatibility on Windows Vista.

Application compatibility was given a good test this morning. My wife re-discovered an old program for Garden Design. When I say old the CD said © 1994-1995.  I was reasonably dubious but thought it was worth a try.

The application installs and runs.  No problems. I am impressed.   To my mind that is application compatibility with a vengeance. 

 

Technorati Tags: ,

This entry was posted in Microsoft. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vista Application Incompatibility?

  1. Josh says:

    I agree. The glowing reviews of Windows 7 make it pretty clear that Vista bashers never gave the OS a chance (as 7, while great, is just an incremental improvement over Vista SP1.) I never had many problems regarding application compatibility. Hell even when Vista warned me that a SQL version or what not was incompatible, it usually ran fine anyway.App compatibility is holding them back though. I expect (hope) that once they’ve had Hyper-V out in the field for a while we’ll see it used in the client OS for compatibility and they can start to break free from some of the legacy in order to be more innovative.

Leave a Reply

